missing icons

In 2017 Andrea Knobloch and Ute Vorkoeper founded the missing icons label, which they have developed since 2013 through participation in art-in-building competitions, exhibitions and art projects in public space. In 2017 they realized the wall relief "Anomalia (Black Hole)" at the Technical University in Regensburg. In 2018/19 they stage with "Rolihlahla | Troublemaker | Troublemaker" a rough diamond on Nelson-Mandela-Platz in Nuremberg.

missing icons open up the structure of reality through pictorial-political action and remain as reliefs and thresholds, intermediate dimensions of image, writing, object and space. In them, reality opens up temporarily or - preferably - permanently. It is folded in or out and unexpectedly shows itself in its complex density and ambivalence. The result is poetic  spaces that are aesthetically seductive and theoretically disturbing. Or vice versa, depending on perspective.

Statement

For us, making art means the evident combination of aesthetic precision, theoretical reflection and political differentiation. We call the resulting image forms "missing icons" = so far missing, repressed, disappeared or outstanding images that work and last. In them we work on latent motives and ideas about which socially significant conflicts can be aptly experienced. As space-related reliefs, thresholds and passages they oscillate between dimensions and unfold painfully beautiful fields of perception and thought. They are aesthetically appealing and theoretically entangled, poetically interpretable and politically moving.

Although in the globalised world everything is recognizably intertwined and interdependent, and there can be no clear or correct positions either in real space or in terms of ideas, most political and ideological parties insist on simple opposition, identity and ideology. The struggle for the interpretation and construction of the world escalates and the own interpretation of the world is increasingly enforced ideologically totalitarian - or with brutal force.

missing icons evade ideological closure. They are denying lectures. They go astray, forcing you to jump out of the pre-track. They open image-time spaces in which, when they strike, the complexity and ambivalence of reality, the non-own opinion, the foreign, the undesired up to the blindly hated, can be endured, heard, seen and thought differently. For a future.

Andrea Knobloch + Ute Vorkoeper

cv.pdf

missing icons

2017 gründeten Andrea Knobloch und Ute Vorkoeper das Label missing icons, das sie seit 2013 durch Beteiligungen an Kunst-am-Bau-Wettbewerben, Ausstellungen und Kunstprojekten im öffentlichen Raum entwickelt haben. 2017 realisierten sie das Wandreliefbild „Anomalia (Black Hole)“ an der Technischen Hochschule in Regensburg. In 2018/19 inszenieren sie mit „Rolihlahla | Troublemaker | Unruhestifter“ einen Rohdiamanten auf dem Nelson-Mandela-Platz in Nürnberg.

missing icons öffnen das Wirklichkeitsgefüge durch bildlich-politisches Handeln und verbleiben als Reliefs und Schwellen, Zwischendimensionen von Bild, Schrift, Objekt und Raum. In ihnen klappt Wirklichkeit temporär oder – vorzugsweise – dauerhaft auf. Sie wird ein- oder ausgefaltet und zeigt sich unerwartet in ihrer komplexen Dichte und Ambivalenz. Es entstehen poetische Bilddenkräume, die ästhetisch verführen und theoretisch verstören. Oder umgekehrt, je nach Perspektive.

Statement

Kunstmachen bedeutet für uns die sinnfällige Verknüpfung von ästhetischer Präzision, theoretischer Besinnung und politischer Differenzierung. Die dabei entstehenden Bildformen bezeichnen wir als „missing icons“ = bislang fehlende, verdrängte, verschwundene oder ausstehende Bilder, die wirken und andauern. In ihnen bearbeiten wir latente Motive und Vorstellungen, über die gesellschaftlich bedeutsame Konflikte treffend erfahren werden können. Als raumbezogene Reliefs, Schwellen und Passagen changieren sie zwischen Dimensionen und entfalten schmerzhaft-schöne Wahrnehmungs- und Denkfelder. Sie sind ästhetisch verlockend und theoretisch verwickelt, poetisch deutbar und politisch bewegend.

Obwohl in der globalisierten Welt erkennbar alles mit allem verflochten und wechselbedingt ist, es weder realräumlich noch ideell eindeutige oder richtige Positionen geben kann, beharren die meisten politischen und weltanschaulichen Parteien auf schlichte Opposition, Identität und Ideologie. Der Kampf um die Deutung und Konstruktion der Welt eskaliert und die eigene Weltdeutung wird zunehmend ideologisch totalitär – oder mit brutaler Gewalt durchgesetzt.

missing icons entziehen sich ideologischer Schließung. Sie verwehren Belehrung. Sie ziehen auf Abwege, nötigen zum Sprung aus der vorgespurten Bahn. Sie öffnen Bild-Zeit-Räume, in denen, wenn sie zünden, die Komplexität und Ambivalenz der Wirklichkeit, die nicht-eigene Meinung, das Fremde, Unerwünschte bis hin zum blind Verhassten, anders ausgehalten, gehört, gesehen und gedacht werden können. Auf eine Zukunft hin.

Andrea Knobloch + Ute Vorkoeper

 

cv.pdf